For Immediate Release...

Birmingham, AL -- January 20, 2014

The Nominating and Credentials Commission of the National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc., under the guidance and appointment of Dr. Julius R. Scruggs, Convention President, recently released the report listing the official candidates for the September election of the next National President of the National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc.

The Commission performed its duties consistent with Article IX, Paragraph 9.1 of the Constitution revised on September 5, 2011 in Orlando, Florida. In compliance with that language, six (6) persons submitted their constituent member petitions to the Convention headquarters by the January 1, 2014 deadline. Packets were submitted by: Dr. R.B. Holmes (FL); Dr. Clifford Jones (NC); Dr. Boise Kimber (CT); Dr. Alvin Love (IL); Dr. Randy Vaughn (TX); and Dr. Jerry Young (MS).

On January 8-10, 2014, the Commission met at the National Baptist World Center in Nashville, TN. Each packet was thoroughly and exhaustively examined to identify and record the number of constituents' entities (an entry must have registered in at least one year since the last election) in good standing with the Constitution's registration requirement. The review consisted of numerous checks and double-checks to verify correctness.

Based on the review, the following nominees are certified as having satisfied the "100 Petition Requirement." In alphabetical order the certified nominees for President are:

- Dr. R.B. Holmes
- Dr. Clifford Jones
- Dr. Boise Kimber
- Dr. Randy Vaughn
- Dr. Jerry Young

The Nominating and Credentials Commission members are Rev. Jimmie Banks, Chairperson; Ms. Jeannette Tatman; Dr. Cedric Perkins; and Rev. Melvin Owens. The election will occur during the 134th Annual Session, September 1-5, 2014 in New Orleans, LA.